Guest reviews

We're always delighted to hear such lovely comments from our guests....
 

Eric W: "The best hotel I've ever stayed at!"

From the moment we walked thru the door, on a one night stay via an online booking agency, we were made to feel totally at home. We were given a personal tour of the hotel, our room and, apart from the fact that we'd already investigated the spa, would have been shown that too. The room was exquisite, the view fabulous, especially in the lovely sunny morning that greeted us the next day. The reception, spa, restaurant staff couldn't possibly been more friendly, not gushingly so, but well measured and well, just friendly. ... Next time, and there will definitely be a next time, I'll get there for lunch and make more use of the spa in the afternoon before occupying the room.

TripAdvisor | November 2016
 

Sammi W: "Fantastic!"

Me and my husband are regulars here, and we will not go anywhere else! Lovely, friendly and beautiful! I am vegan and they always make sure to get the meals in for me! The meals are always amazing. The spa is amazing, lovely staff. The rooms are lovely and we always have a great nights sleep. This place is also dog friendly!

TripAdvisor | November 2016

 

PaulPSails: "A first class English hotel and spa"

My wife and I spent a night at this hotel and were totally impressed. From the moment we arrived the staff were helpful, and friendly. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable looking out on the well maintained gardens.It was lovely and warm...
The bed was a delight. Our swim in the Spa pool was a total pleasure and again it was clean and staff were helpful. The three course dinner and breakfast were faultless and most enjoyable. We liked it so much I have booked already to go back in February for my wifes birthday celebration. Why face Gatwick airport when hotels like this exist in England!

TripAdvisor | November 2016
 

NickyP1960: "Fabulous stay"

The most friendly and welcoming staff ever, luxuriously comfortable rooms, fabulous food, beautiful hotel grounds, with loads of activities to keep the whole family entertained - what an incredibly special hotel. An enormous thank you to Sam and all his lovely staff who made my parent's Diamond Wedding Anniversary weekend such a happy and wonderful event for us all.

TripAdvisor | October 2016

 

Thomas B: "Great service"

A last minute booking for a very short stay, late arrival and early departure, but everything from check in to a couple of small requests and an excellent breakfast in the morning, was handled with the utmost professionalism and sincerity, with no overbearing presence - a great credit to the management/owners and the committed and polite staff. Beautifully maintained grounds in a quiet corner of Sussex make this a good destination at any time of year. Next time we hope to stay longer.

TripAdvisor | September 2016
 
 

hspisme: "Surpassed my expectations; Excellent hotel."

I booked this hotel based on trip advisor reviews and I was as pleased with this hotel as many reviewers before me. In fact it surpassed my expectations. The hotel is clean, cosy and so welcoming. The Spa is by far one of the best with a great pool, sauna and steam room facilities but I can not comment on the treatments as I did not book any. There is lovely outdoor pool too with sun loungers to dry off on after a swim inn this heated pool. Dinner was just excellent too and they met my dietary needs without any fuss. Our room was wonderful with everything one could ask for in a superior hotel room right down to homemade shortcake. We usually stay at Balifscourt Hotel and Spa when in this area but are now switching to Park House as Park House is far better in my view. What makes this hotel exceptional though is the staff. So many reviewers comment on poor staff attitudes in their reviews of other hotels but here at Park House the staff are welcoming, polite and friendly with excellent attention to detail. Already booking a second stay. Do not hesitate to book a break at Park House Hotel.
TripAdvisor | September 2016
 

SEE MORE ON TRIP ADVISOR

 

Our Press Reviews



UK, Sussex Style, July 2016: Life As It Should Be
 
This month Jasper Gerard finds the perfect country house hotel in Park House and awards it a 5* rating and 5* for value. "My starter is more contemporary: smoked eel tortellini, horseradish and bacon with garden peas. It melts in the mouth more quickly that money evaporates in the pocket of a young blade out on a first date. Tortellini can be stodgier than granny's slippers, but this is supermodel thin, strutting on a catwalk of pea puree. Again, crispy bacon is added for texture and taste to this otherwse smooth dish."

UK, June 2016, www.thekitandkaboodle.co.uk: Melt Your Troubles Away

A luxury retreat where you leave your troubles behind and melt into a haze of relaxation the moment you step through the door....For true relaxation the spa is a must...At the end of your stay you will feel ready to face the world again, with guaranteed memories of this beautiful hidden treasure that's almost too good to share!"

UK, March 2016, www.hotelguru.co.uk: Best Hotels in Midhurst
 
"Best hotels in Midhurst for country house escapes....Park House is a traditional 21 room hotel in the heart of the South Downs with tennis courts, a spa and indoor and outdoor pools. The bar is decorated with photographs of previous celebrity guests and great polo players as well as the former matriarch of the hotel who liked to keep such a close eye on things that she slept next to the kitchen!"

UK, 25th March 2016, www.independent.co.uk: Good Hotel Guide's Top 10 UK Spa Hotels

The Good Hotel Guide's Editor's Choice lists the Top 10 UK Spa Hotels for relaxing stays and pampering days...."A marble shower is the entry to the spa at this country-house hotel with views of the South Downs. Inside you'll find a mother-of-pearl pool, saunas, steam room, gym and fitness studio."

UK, 6th March 2016, www.abouttimemagazine.co.uk:

"Park House in Sussex is the kind of gem you need to visit if you've always lusted after the English countryside idyll...The hotel's restaurant is one of the best I've tried of its kind - not only for the food, but also the service....Although not unusually one to harp on about 'impeccable service rah rah,' the staff at Park House are exceptional and deserve a shout-out. They ooze charm and warmth and each course is served with a genuine, lovely smile.'

UK, February 2016, Shooting Gazette:
 
"Guns dined at Park House hotel, an establishment Shooting Gazette visited a few years ago and it's clearly lost none of its know-how when catering for shooting parties. An overnight stay is a must."

UK, 12th December 2015, The Sun:
 
'Nestled in the village of Bepton amid the glorious countryside, this beautiful hotel is quaint and typically English - it even has its own croquet lawn. The relaxed atmosphere and welcoming staff create a lovely home from home'.

UK, November 2015, The Gentlemans Journal:

"Park House Hotel is a home from home. Once here you never want to leave, and despite being just 50 miles from central London it is truly a world apart. Relaxation is intrinsic to the fabric of Park House, and warm hospitality exudes from every member of staff......This agrestic ambiance spills into the kitchen too, and head chef Callum Keir is nothing short of a culinary wizard. A friend who previously stayed at the hotel had spoken in golden tones about the cuisine passing under Keir’s supervision, so we arrived with high expectations. These expectations were blown out of the water."

UK, September/October 2015, Exclusively British magazine:

"Turning on to the gravelled drive is akin to stepping into a bygone era of elegance and calm and is such a refreshing contrast to today's frantic activity"

UK, 5th September 2015, BA High Life on-line:

"This small family-run hotel in deepest West Sussex makes for an ideal country retreat. If you are looking to be pampered, eat well and exercise in beautiful surroundings that are quintessentially British....then this is the place."

UK, September 2015, Economia:

Best for: the city-weary. "If your office overlooks a car park or you're sick of the city, then this retreat in Midhurst is what you need."

UK, September 2015, Inside Sussex magazine:

"Whether it is an occasion, a business meeting, wedding celebration, or a simple weekend escape, at Park House hotel & spa, the customer most definitely comes first. This wonderful hidden gem is one we will no doubt be adding to our 'favourite places' list and already can't wait to return."

UK, 18th June 2015, www.thespaman.co.uk (Mark Smith):

"The award-winning spa wasn't on my radar prior to visiting, but now I highly recommend it to friends looking for a weekend escape from London. It has to be one of the best spas in Sussex."

UK, 3rd May 2015, Daily Express, S Magazine:

"Spending the weekend at Park House feels like you've been invited to stay at a lottery winner's country retreat....The food in the Dining Room is British, seasonal, locally sourced and truly delicious...You can't miss the Voyager Total Massage Journey....It's safe to say that it feels as relaxing as lying by the sea listening to waves lapping against the shore."

Read the full article here.

UK, May 2015, Spirit & Destiny magazine:

..."I began to relax as soon as I arrived at Park House hotel & spa. It felt like a proper retreat, with panoramic views of the Sussex countryside and friendly staff, and the spa is spacious, modern and chic.....I've had lots of different massages, but this was one of the best I've had as the extra heat created by the shells really seemed to unknot my back and ease the aches (re Hot Lava Shell Massage)."

UK, February 2015, Daily Mail:

"Sitting just outside Midhurst in West Sussex, this is not so much a class act as a lesson in top-notch hospitality without a whiff of pretension....A spa has been added, with a terrific indoor pool and treatments galore, set discreetly away from the house. There's nothing old-fashioned about the food. The Scottish chef works his magic with fresh ingredients sourced locally..."

UK, December 2014, Daily Mail On-Line:

Read the full article here.

UK, December 2014/January 2015, FieldSports:


"...A swift nose around the opulent interior ratifies that Park House is a topflight home-from-home that offers everything a team of Guns could need, and then so much more that they may have thought they didn't...The food was as expected - epic. I take my hat off to you Callum Keir (head chef)...Park House continues to offer fieldsports enthusiasts a nigh-on perfect experience, with a soothing spa twist.....Unapologetically, I have nothing but praise for this particular hotel."

Read the full article.

UK, October 2014, ETC Sussex:

"....Although we were only at Park House for the day I honestly did feel rejuvenated after my visit. In fact it felt like I had been on holiday. If you are looking for a quick pick-me-up then Park House is the perfect oasis set in a breathtakingly beautiful countryside setting. Pure bliss".

UK, September 2014, Sunday Times, Travel, 'Ultimate 100 British Hotels':

"........Time to collapse into an overstuffed sofa and put your feet up, Park House, near Midhurst, has been practising the art of country-house hotel-keeping for 60 years and still flies the flag with gusto...The South Downs lanscape here is as fine as any in southern England."

UK, September 2014, VantagePoint magazine (Sussex & Surrey):

".......the seemingly simple taste belied lots of different flavours contrasting and contributing to the whole..So much attention to detail with a myriad of ingredients in each dish....But it was the main course that we most admired. A rainbow of colours on a plate, my black bream, samphire, shimeji mushroom, red peppers and saffron potatoes were beautifully presented. I savoured every mouthful as the fish was perfectly moist and the skin fabulously crispy. The sweetness of the peppers contrasted strikingly with the salty samphire....."

UK, July 2014, Sussex Life:

".....Glorious not only for the setting, which is enviable, but also the top notch treatments and above all, the staff. They really could not be more cheerful, helpful and relaxed......The spa's signature Kerstin Florian facials were a revolution to my face....But take care not to disregard the massages, which are comparable to any top enterprise that you might care to find in this or any other country....This hidden gem is well worth a visit."

UK, June 2014, The Sunday Telegraph:

".....Surrounding the house is a neat croquet lawn, a pair of lawn tennis courts, a testing pitch and putt golf course and an emerald putting green, all perfectly maintained. There are 21 bedrooms in the main house. Excellent breakfasts."

If you are a journalist and would like to come and stay at the hotel to write a review, please contact the hotel reservations team on 01730 819020 or email: reservations@parkhousehotel.com with your details. Our Press Officer will then get in contact with you to follow up.
 

our 
rooms

the
barn

spa
treatments

private
parties

exclusive
use

country
pursuits