Guest reviews

We're always delighted to hear such lovely comments from our guests....

 

ExploreGB: So relaxed

From the moment you arrive you know that it is the relaxed atmosphere that wins here. The staff are calm, friendly but not overly so, and attentive to your needs. As we arrive a helicopter took off from the lawn which really says everything about who's who here. We lunched in the lounge where it was quieter away from the busy restaurant followed by a walk through the well manicured grounds. I cannot recommend this place enough for a relaxed get away.

Trip Advisor | May 2017
 

Michelle P: Wonderful little oasis of tranquility and great service

I visited this hotel in January with a girlfriend for a spa weekend, we stayed in the annex and had a gorgeous twin room with a balcony. We enjoyed the spa and had agreat massage followed by full use of indoor facilities and a swim. I loved this place so much we booked the cottage so we could bring our dog and celebrate my husband's birthday with some good friends. Weather was fabulous so we were able to use the outdoor pool, we cant find fault with Park House anywhere, everything is just as it should be and we will re visit again. Our friends have already re-booked. It was nice to have our beloved dog with us in a secure garden area and they welcomed her not just tolerated her. Thanks.

Trip Advisor | May 2017


Brian H: "Delightful country hotel with something extra"

The Park House hotel provided our family with a truly amazing venue for a very special celebration over the Easter weekend. The staff were efficient and friendly and served an excellent lunch to 16 of us followed by a wonderful outdoor afternoon of fun on two grass tennis courts, a croquet lawn and a modest short course golf course in their own grounds. The weather was warm and dry (a bonus!) and the hotel was presented in immaculate condition throughout.

TripAdvisor | April 2017


FoodWorldTour: "Birthday Indulgence"

My fiancé, dad and I treated my mum to a spa day for her 60th birthday. After booking the spa package over the phone, I was sent her spa day gift voucher and itinerary to gift wrap for her in the post. The team over the phone were very helpful so I had high expectations for the day. When we arrived at the spa we were greeted by our host Claire, who could not have been more warm and welcoming to us. We got shown around the facilities and how to use the different features. As the day was a treat for my mum, Claire was extremely discreet when some products we'd arranged for mum's treatment hadn't arrived on the delivery and kindly gave mum a complimentary upgrade to a different treatment that she was equally thrilled with. Although there was a slight change, it was done with professionalism and in no way spoilt our day. Having visited many spas in the local area, this one is by far my favourite. The quality of the facilities and attention to detail were fantastic - including the cleanliness of the spa. We both had treatments and enjoyed the warm heated beds and relaxation room. What I would suggest though if you like to relax and not talk during your treatment is to kindly advise your therapist of this. All the therapists we met were very friendly and were very informative about the products which are all organic from Ireland.
We sat outside and enjoyed lunch on the patio area, although slightly chilly they brought out blankets and put the heaters on which was a lovely touch as well as bringing out a birthday cake slice for mum. The only tip I would give if you'd like a more peaceful experience is to arrive early and enjoy the facilities before the afternoon guests arrive.
With 5 weeks until my wedding day the spa day was also a lovely treat before the big day and I would happily recommend the spa to all my friends and family! Very much looking forward to going back!

TripAdvisor | April 2017


PuraVida99: "2nd year in a row - even better!"

Having stayed in 2016, we returned in March 2017 for my wife's 40th birthday and loved every minute. This family run hotel is beautifully maintained and has the most wonderful staff, from front desk through to the restaurant and bar. FOOD: my wife is vegetarian and the chef personally came out to request what she would like to eat and made her an amazing meal on both nights, neither of which was on the menu. The breakfast is a real treat and all meals are served by happy, attentive and polite staff. ROOMS: we have now stayed in room 5 and 3 both of which are beautiful - nothing to fault at all - well proportioned and spotless. Room 3 however has better views across the golf course and fields beyond. SPA: having not been in the summer, we have not experienced the outdoor pool, but the indoor facilities are fantastic. Lovely pool and small gym with all the main things you'd need. Again everything is spotless. LOCAL AREA: the front desk staff were very helpful in recommending walks and have maps you can borrow. We headed off on a 10 mile loop taking in the South Downs Way and some lovely local pubs (The White Horse in Chilgrove and the Royal Oak in Hooksway). They even cleaned our very muddy wellies on our return - you don't get much better than that!

The hotel has a lovely atmosphere and makes you feel at home from the minute you arrive - nothing seems too much effort for the staff an they are always willing to help. We sat and spoke with the owners in the bar area on the second night - was great to hear a little more about the history of the house. I think this will become an annual get away for us going forward!

TripAdvisor | March 2017


Adrian W: "Can you keep it a secret?"

Ok, so I have been before and as such was expecting a lot. From the warm welcome to the lovely clean rooms and the relaxing spacious hotel and grounds you can expect to be impressed. The spa is good, perhaps more and is very clean and modern. And theres more. The food is great. Great choice, great service, great value and I really love the menu. Thank you Park House for another wonderful break.

TripAdvisor | March 2017
 

SEE MORE ON TRIP ADVISOR


 

Our Press Reviews


Travel with Kat, UK, June 2017: Park House Hotel and Spa, a well kept Sussex secret
by Kathryn Burrington

It was tough deciding what to have for each course as it all sounded so good and a little different from the usual fare I come across, without being too experimental. For the starter I opted for the special of wood pigeon, while my sister opted for the lobster ravioli. ... Throughout the meal we were amused to hear soft squeals of delight and other noises of appreciation from the table next to us as they tucked into each dish. They were clearly enjoying the meal as much as we were. Everything was exceptionally good. ... With so much to offer and such excellent service, it’s no wonder that the Park House Hotel are finalists in the Condé Nast Johansens Awards 2017 for the ‘Best Countryside Hotel’ ... Read the full review here.
 
Chichester Post, UK, March 2017: 
 
This delightful hotel is a hidden treasure, which everyone should know about. The staff are friendly, attentive and efficient and the fine dining and afternoon teas are exquisite...Just a few miles down the road and you feel like you have been transported to another world for a few hours. I would highly recommend a visit!
 
Sussex Style, UK, July 2016: Life As It Should Be
 
This month Jasper Gerard finds the perfect country house hotel in Park House and awards it a 5* rating and 5* for value. "My starter is more contemporary: smoked eel tortellini, horseradish and bacon with garden peas. It melts in the mouth more quickly that money evaporates in the pocket of a young blade out on a first date. Tortellini can be stodgier than granny's slippers, but this is supermodel thin, strutting on a catwalk of pea puree. Again, crispy bacon is added for texture and taste to this otherwse smooth dish."

The Kit and Kaboodle, UK, June 2016: Melt Your Troubles Away

A luxury retreat where you leave your troubles behind and melt into a haze of relaxation the moment you step through the door....For true relaxation the spa is a must...At the end of your stay you will feel ready to face the world again, with guaranteed memories of this beautiful hidden treasure that's almost too good to share!"

hotelguru, UK, March 2016: Best Hotels in Midhurst
 
Best hotels in Midhurst for country house escapes....Park House is a traditional 21 room hotel in the heart of the South Downs with tennis courts, a spa and indoor and outdoor pools. The bar is decorated with photographs of previous celebrity guests and great polo players as well as the former matriarch of the hotel who liked to keep such a close eye on things that she slept next to the kitchen!

Independent, UK, March 2016: Good Hotel Guide's Top 10 UK Spa Hotels

The Good Hotel Guide's Editor's Choice lists the Top 10 UK Spa Hotels for relaxing stays and pampering days...."A marble shower is the entry to the spa at this country-house hotel with views of the South Downs. Inside you'll find a mother-of-pearl pool, saunas, steam room, gym and fitness studio."

About Time, UK, March 2016:

Park House in Sussex is the kind of gem you need to visit if you've always lusted after the English countryside idyll...The hotel's restaurant is one of the best I've tried of its kind - not only for the food, but also the service....Although not unusually one to harp on about 'impeccable service rah rah,' the staff at Park House are exceptional and deserve a shout-out. They ooze charm and warmth and each course is served with a genuine, lovely smile.

Shooting Gazette, UK, February 2016:
 
Guns dined at Park House hotel, an establishment Shooting Gazette visited a few years ago and it's clearly lost none of its know-how when catering for shooting parties. An overnight stay is a must.

The Sun, UK, December 2015:
 
Nestled in the village of Bepton amid the glorious countryside, this beautiful hotel is quaint and typically English - it even has its own croquet lawn. The relaxed atmosphere and welcoming staff create a lovely home from home'.

The Gentlemans JournalUK, November 2015:

Park House Hotel is a home from home. Once here you never want to leave, and despite being just 50 miles from central London it is truly a world apart. Relaxation is intrinsic to the fabric of Park House, and warm hospitality exudes from every member of staff......This agrestic ambiance spills into the kitchen too, and head chef Callum Keir is nothing short of a culinary wizard. A friend who previously stayed at the hotel had spoken in golden tones about the cuisine passing under Keir’s supervision, so we arrived with high expectations. These expectations were blown out of the water.

Exclusively British magazine, UK, September/October 2015:

Turning on to the gravelled drive is akin to stepping into a bygone era of elegance and calm and is such a refreshing contrast to today's frantic activity.

BA High Life online, UK, September 2015:

This small family-run hotel in deepest West Sussex makes for an ideal country retreat. If you are looking to be pampered, eat well and exercise in beautiful surroundings that are quintessentially British....then this is the place.

Economia, UK, September 2015:

Best for: the city-weary. "If your office overlooks a car park or you're sick of the city, then this retreat in Midhurst is what you need."

Inside Sussex, UK, September 2015:

Whether it is an occasion, a business meeting, wedding celebration, or a simple weekend escape, at Park House hotel & spa, the customer most definitely comes first. This wonderful hidden gem is one we will no doubt be adding to our 'favourite places' list and already can't wait to return.

www.thespaman.co.ukUK, June 2015:
by Mark Smith

The award-winning spa wasn't on my radar prior to visiting, but now I highly recommend it to friends looking for a weekend escape from London. It has to be one of the best spas in Sussex.

Daily Express, S Magazine, UK, May 2015:

Spending the weekend at Park House feels like you've been invited to stay at a lottery winner's country retreat....The food in the Dining Room is British, seasonal, locally sourced and truly delicious...You can't miss the Voyager Total Massage Journey....It's safe to say that it feels as relaxing as lying by the sea listening to waves lapping against the shore. Read the full article here.

Spirit & Destiny magazine, UK, May 2015:

... I began to relax as soon as I arrived at Park House hotel & spa. It felt like a proper retreat, with panoramic views of the Sussex countryside and friendly staff, and the spa is spacious, modern and chic.....I've had lots of different massages, but this was one of the best I've had as the extra heat created by the shells really seemed to unknot my back and ease the aches (re Hot Lava Shell Massage).

Daily Mail, UK, February 2015:

Sitting just outside Midhurst in West Sussex, this is not so much a class act as a lesson in top-notch hospitality without a whiff of pretension. ... A spa has been added, with a terrific indoor pool and treatments galore, set discreetly away from the house. There's nothing old-fashioned about the food. The Scottish chef works his magic with fresh ingredients sourced locally....

Daily Mail online, UK, December 2014:

Read the full article here.

FieldSports, 
UK, December 2014 / January 2015:

... A swift nose around the opulent interior ratifies that Park House is a topflight home-from-home that offers everything a team of Guns could need, and then so much more that they may have thought they didn't...The food was as expected - epic. I take my hat off to you Callum Keir (head chef) ... Park House continues to offer fieldsports enthusiasts a nigh-on perfect experience, with a soothing spa twist ... Unapologetically, I have nothing but praise for this particular hotel.

Read the full article here.

ETC Sussex, UK, October 2014:

... Although we were only at Park House for the day I honestly did feel rejuvenated after my visit. In fact it felt like I had been on holiday. If you are looking for a quick pick-me-up then Park House is the perfect oasis set in a breathtakingly beautiful countryside setting. Pure bliss.

Sunday Times, Travel, 'Ultimate 100 British Hotels', UK, September 2014:

... Time to collapse into an overstuffed sofa and put your feet up, Park House, near Midhurst, has been practising the art of country-house hotel-keeping for 60 years and still flies the flag with gusto. ...The South Downs lanscape here is as fine as any in southern England.

VantagePoint magazine (Sussex & Surrey), UK, September 2014:

...the seemingly simple taste belied lots of different flavours contrasting and contributing to the whole..So much attention to detail with a myriad of ingredients in each dish.... But it was the main course that we most admired. A rainbow of colours on a plate, my black bream, samphire, shimeji mushroom, red peppers and saffron potatoes were beautifully presented. I savoured every mouthful as the fish was perfectly moist and the skin fabulously crispy. The sweetness of the peppers contrasted strikingly with the salty samphire....

 Sussex Life, UK, July 2014:

... Glorious not only for the setting, which is enviable, but also the top notch treatments and above all, the staff. They really could not be more cheerful, helpful and relaxed. ... The spa's signature Kerstin Florian facials were a revolution to my face. ... But take care not to disregard the massages, which are comparable to any top enterprise that you might care to find in this or any other country. ... This hidden gem is well worth a visit.

The Sunday Telegraph, UK, June 2014:

... Surrounding the house is a neat croquet lawn, a pair of lawn tennis courts, a testing pitch and putt golf course and an emerald putting green, all perfectly maintained. There are 21 bedrooms in the main house. Excellent breakfasts.


------------------------------------------------------

If you are a journalist and would like to come and stay at the hotel to write a review, please contact the hotel reservations team on 01730 819020 or email: reservations@parkhousehotel.com with your details. Our Press Officer will then get in contact with you to follow up.

------------------------------------------------------

our 
rooms

the
barn

spa
treatments

private
parties

exclusive
use

country
pursuits