Guest reviews

We're always delighted to hear such lovely comments from our guests....


Helen D: "Real treat!"

We stayed here for two nights and did not know what to expect as have never been to a spa hotel before. It was lovely. The hotel was beautifully kept, the staff friendly and helpful and the bedroom was perfect with a view into the garden. We had some treatments at the spa and the therapists were very kind and great at their jobs. All the staff at The spa were friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend staying here and We are looking forward to staying again.

 
Trip Advisor | September 2017

 

Professor Y: "A lovely oasis of calm"

We had a very pleasurable lunch here yesterday, plaice with shrimps and lots of nice vegetables, followed by a good cheese and crackers platter. We were welcomed warmly and were impressed by the efficiency and friendliness of the staff and the general good ambience of the hotel. We hope to return soon as this is the kind of place we love to escape from the daily grind. We hope it won't change.

Trip Advisor | August 2017
 

Hugh D: "Outstanding in many ways!"

The food, ambiance, and service were excellent. The sports and spa facilities were first class; superb greens on the 3 x 6 hole golf course; finest of turf on the putting green; smooth croquet lawn; and fine indoor and outdoor heated pools. But the standout feature of Park House was the universal and real friendliness of the entire staff! From Sarah, Maeva and Linda at the front desk to Norbert and Claudio in the dining room - each one was brilliant!

Trip Advisor | July 2017
 

mary r: "Good food and friendly staff"

We came here as a group for Cream Tea which was lovely, the staff friendly and attentive. The grounds are great with croquet, bowls, tennis and swimming and also golf. A lovely place to relax ... typically English house and garden.

Trip Advisor | July 2017
 

KentAngelfish: "Spa day"

Great service and facilities at this little spa, boasting an inviting pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna, plus lovely spa facilities. Really enjoyed the shell massage and one of the best pedicures I've ever had....

Trip Advisor | June 2017
 

DrMarcFarah: "Home away from home."

We stayed at The Park House over half term, with my mother and our 2 sons. So ages ranged from mid 80s to 10. From the moment we stepped in side, we all breathed a sigh of relief. Everyone was so friendly and efficient and nothing at any point was too much trouble. Once settled in, we made use of all the facilities, tennis, spa etc etc. The food was excellent and as a vegan, the staff and head chef went out of their way to prepare delicious vegan food for me. We had a wonderful few days of family time and were truly looked after beautifully on all fronts.
Trip Advisor | June 2017


 

SEE MORE ON TRIP ADVISOR


 

Our Press Reviews

Sunday Telegraph, STELLA magazine, UK, August 2017

Best for ... outdoor activities. This 17th century country hotel in the South Downs is classically English.... But it's the outdoor facilities that set this hotel apart. The pool, sun terrace and bar are a treat on a sunny day, as are the croquet lawn and bowling greens.


City Jet Velocity, UK, Summer 2017: Escape to the country

Described as the perfect country retreat, Park House Hotel and Spa is just that. ... I've had the pleasure of staying at a number of spa hotels over the years and this one is the most intimate and relaxed, with a wonderfully personal touch. The staff are a credit to the hotel; they were all absolutely lovely, incredibly attentive and friendly, making us feel like members of an extended family. Read the full story here.


HuffPost UK, July 2017: In short, if you are in or around London... head here as it really does have it all.
by Gina Lyons, HuffPost blogger and TV / Film Producer

If planning a wedding or any other huge life event, I implore you take some time off... and head to somewhere relaxing to re-connect. Park House hotel and spa could not have been a more perfect place to rest up.
The food was immense (Callum Kier, exec Chef is classically trained and has worked in Paris and with the British Michelin-starred chef Martin Blunos, so you are getting the good stuff.) They have great wines too, which calmly got us back onto the wedding planning chat as we took a bottle back to the room. .... In short, if you are in or around London and want a home from home stay at a gorgeous, relaxed, country like spa for the night, head here as it really does have it all. Read Gina's full review here.


The Telegraph, UK, July 2017: The Telegraph's expert, Tracey Davies, rates Park House 8/10

This intimate country house hotel, tucked in the bucolic folds of the South Downs, has been in the O'Brien family for more than sixty years. A swish spa, fine dining restaurant and an six-hole golf course brings it bang up to date and proves that great things are often found in small packages. ... Staff are personable and seamlessly attentive. For a small hotel, its facilities certainly pack a punch. Read all about it here.


Flybe, UK, June 2017: Escape to the country
by Hannah Constant

My recent stay at Park House was the best for many reasons, not least the best chicken and duck liver parfait for me and the best massage for my husband....he enjoyed a 45-minute head, neck and shoulder massage. This is his go-to massage and he said that this was by far the best one he had ever had. ... We will definitely be returning - I've already suggested it for our wedding anniversary! And something tells me that we will be remembered by the staff and welcomed as if we go there every weekend. If only we did! ... Read the full article here.


Condé Nast Johansens, UK, June 2017: A Family Welcome on the Sussex South Downs

A property kept in the same family for over 60 years is a rarity. Rarer still is one which provides a seamless combination of traditional Edwardian elegance with touches of modern luxury. This is the experience that Park House Hotel & Spa effortlessly provides. While the ethos of excellent service and attention to detail has remained standard since Park House was opened by its original proprietor, Ioné O’Brien, the interiors and facilities have seen a contemporary update assuring guests a relaxing, comfortable and opulent experience. We spoke with Michael O’Brien about memories of Ioné, the history of Park House and what it is that keeps guest coming back year after year. Read all about it here.


Sunday Express, UK, June 2017: History buffs feel right at home in Bepton
by Dominique Hines

STAY: Ask any Beptonite where to lay your head as a visitor and they’ll point you in the direction of the idyllic Park House, Hotel & Spa. ... DO: Try the spa’s signature VOYAVoyager Total Massage Journey (£95, 85mins). This full-body experience incorporates body brushing, massage and a scalp massage that replicate the movements of the sea using the world’s first organic seaweed oil.


Travel with Kat, UK, June 2017: Park House Hotel and Spa, a well kept Sussex secret
by Kathryn Burrington

It was tough deciding what to have for each course as it all sounded so good and a little different from the usual fare I come across, without being too experimental. For the starter I opted for the special of wood pigeon, while my sister opted for the lobster ravioli. ... Throughout the meal we were amused to hear soft squeals of delight and other noises of appreciation from the table next to us as they tucked into each dish. They were clearly enjoying the meal as much as we were. Everything was exceptionally good. ... With so much to offer and such excellent service, it’s no wonder that the Park House Hotel are finalists in the Condé Nast Johansens Awards 2017 for the ‘Best Countryside Hotel’ ... Read the full review here.

 
Chichester Post, UK, March 2017: 
 
This delightful hotel is a hidden treasure, which everyone should know about. The staff are friendly, attentive and efficient and the fine dining and afternoon teas are exquisite...Just a few miles down the road and you feel like you have been transported to another world for a few hours. I would highly recommend a visit!

 
Sussex Style, UK, July 2016: Life As It Should Be
 
This month Jasper Gerard finds the perfect country house hotel in Park House and awards it a 5* rating and 5* for value. "My starter is more contemporary: smoked eel tortellini, horseradish and bacon with garden peas. It melts in the mouth more quickly that money evaporates in the pocket of a young blade out on a first date. Tortellini can be stodgier than granny's slippers, but this is supermodel thin, strutting on a catwalk of pea puree. Again, crispy bacon is added for texture and taste to this otherwse smooth dish."


The Kit and Kaboodle, UK, June 2016: Melt Your Troubles Away

A luxury retreat where you leave your troubles behind and melt into a haze of relaxation the moment you step through the door....For true relaxation the spa is a must...At the end of your stay you will feel ready to face the world again, with guaranteed memories of this beautiful hidden treasure that's almost too good to share!"


hotelguru, UK, March 2016: Best Hotels in Midhurst
 
Best hotels in Midhurst for country house escapes....Park House is a traditional 21 room hotel in the heart of the South Downs with tennis courts, a spa and indoor and outdoor pools. The bar is decorated with photographs of previous celebrity guests and great polo players as well as the former matriarch of the hotel who liked to keep such a close eye on things that she slept next to the kitchen!


Independent, UK, March 2016: Good Hotel Guide's Top 10 UK Spa Hotels

The Good Hotel Guide's Editor's Choice lists the Top 10 UK Spa Hotels for relaxing stays and pampering days...."A marble shower is the entry to the spa at this country-house hotel with views of the South Downs. Inside you'll find a mother-of-pearl pool, saunas, steam room, gym and fitness studio."


About Time, UK, March 2016:

Park House in Sussex is the kind of gem you need to visit if you've always lusted after the English countryside idyll...The hotel's restaurant is one of the best I've tried of its kind - not only for the food, but also the service....Although not unusually one to harp on about 'impeccable service rah rah,' the staff at Park House are exceptional and deserve a shout-out. They ooze charm and warmth and each course is served with a genuine, lovely smile.


Shooting Gazette, UK, February 2016:
 
Guns dined at Park House hotel, an establishment Shooting Gazette visited a few years ago and it's clearly lost none of its know-how when catering for shooting parties. An overnight stay is a must.


The Sun, UK, December 2015:
 
Nestled in the village of Bepton amid the glorious countryside, this beautiful hotel is quaint and typically English - it even has its own croquet lawn. The relaxed atmosphere and welcoming staff create a lovely home from home'.


The Gentlemans JournalUK, November 2015:

Park House Hotel is a home from home. Once here you never want to leave, and despite being just 50 miles from central London it is truly a world apart. Relaxation is intrinsic to the fabric of Park House, and warm hospitality exudes from every member of staff......This agrestic ambiance spills into the kitchen too, and head chef Callum Keir is nothing short of a culinary wizard. A friend who previously stayed at the hotel had spoken in golden tones about the cuisine passing under Keir’s supervision, so we arrived with high expectations. These expectations were blown out of the water.


Exclusively British magazine, UK, September/October 2015:

Turning on to the gravelled drive is akin to stepping into a bygone era of elegance and calm and is such a refreshing contrast to today's frantic activity.


BA High Life online, UK, September 2015:

This small family-run hotel in deepest West Sussex makes for an ideal country retreat. If you are looking to be pampered, eat well and exercise in beautiful surroundings that are quintessentially British....then this is the place.


Economia, UK, September 2015:

Best for: the city-weary. "If your office overlooks a car park or you're sick of the city, then this retreat in Midhurst is what you need."


Inside Sussex, UK, September 2015:

Whether it is an occasion, a business meeting, wedding celebration, or a simple weekend escape, at Park House hotel & spa, the customer most definitely comes first. This wonderful hidden gem is one we will no doubt be adding to our 'favourite places' list and already can't wait to return.


www.thespaman.co.ukUK, June 2015:
by Mark Smith

The award-winning spa wasn't on my radar prior to visiting, but now I highly recommend it to friends looking for a weekend escape from London. It has to be one of the best spas in Sussex.


Daily Express, S Magazine, UK, May 2015:

Spending the weekend at Park House feels like you've been invited to stay at a lottery winner's country retreat....The food in the Dining Room is British, seasonal, locally sourced and truly delicious...You can't miss the Voyager Total Massage Journey....It's safe to say that it feels as relaxing as lying by the sea listening to waves lapping against the shore. Read the full article here.


Spirit & Destiny magazine, UK, May 2015:

... I began to relax as soon as I arrived at Park House hotel & spa. It felt like a proper retreat, with panoramic views of the Sussex countryside and friendly staff, and the spa is spacious, modern and chic.....I've had lots of different massages, but this was one of the best I've had as the extra heat created by the shells really seemed to unknot my back and ease the aches (re Hot Lava Shell Massage).


Daily Mail, UK, February 2015:

Sitting just outside Midhurst in West Sussex, this is not so much a class act as a lesson in top-notch hospitality without a whiff of pretension. ... A spa has been added, with a terrific indoor pool and treatments galore, set discreetly away from the house. There's nothing old-fashioned about the food. The Scottish chef works his magic with fresh ingredients sourced locally....


Daily Mail online, UK, December 2014:

Read the full article here.


FieldSports, 
UK, December 2014 / January 2015:

... A swift nose around the opulent interior ratifies that Park House is a topflight home-from-home that offers everything a team of Guns could need, and then so much more that they may have thought they didn't...The food was as expected - epic. I take my hat off to you Callum Keir (head chef) ... Park House continues to offer fieldsports enthusiasts a nigh-on perfect experience, with a soothing spa twist ... Unapologetically, I have nothing but praise for this particular hotel.

Read the full article here.


ETC Sussex, UK, October 2014:

... Although we were only at Park House for the day I honestly did feel rejuvenated after my visit. In fact it felt like I had been on holiday. If you are looking for a quick pick-me-up then Park House is the perfect oasis set in a breathtakingly beautiful countryside setting. Pure bliss.


Sunday Times, Travel, 'Ultimate 100 British Hotels', UK, September 2014:

... Time to collapse into an overstuffed sofa and put your feet up, Park House, near Midhurst, has been practising the art of country-house hotel-keeping for 60 years and still flies the flag with gusto. ...The South Downs lanscape here is as fine as any in southern England.


VantagePoint magazine (Sussex & Surrey), UK, September 2014:

...the seemingly simple taste belied lots of different flavours contrasting and contributing to the whole..So much attention to detail with a myriad of ingredients in each dish.... But it was the main course that we most admired. A rainbow of colours on a plate, my black bream, samphire, shimeji mushroom, red peppers and saffron potatoes were beautifully presented. I savoured every mouthful as the fish was perfectly moist and the skin fabulously crispy. The sweetness of the peppers contrasted strikingly with the salty samphire....


Sussex Life, UK, July 2014:

... Glorious not only for the setting, which is enviable, but also the top notch treatments and above all, the staff. They really could not be more cheerful, helpful and relaxed. ... The spa's signature Kerstin Florian facials were a revolution to my face. ... But take care not to disregard the massages, which are comparable to any top enterprise that you might care to find in this or any other country. ... This hidden gem is well worth a visit.


The Sunday Telegraph, UK, June 2014:

... Surrounding the house is a neat croquet lawn, a pair of lawn tennis courts, a testing pitch and putt golf course and an emerald putting green, all perfectly maintained. There are 21 bedrooms in the main house. Excellent breakfasts.


------------------------------------------------------

If you are a journalist and would like to come and stay at the hotel to write a review, please contact the hotel reservations team on 01730 819020 or email: reservations@parkhousehotel.com with your details. Our Press Officer will then get in contact with you to follow up.

------------------------------------------------------

our 
rooms

the
barn

spa
treatments

private
parties

exclusive
use

country
pursuits